Automated Traffic Enforcement of Seatbelt Law
Unlike Arizona, California drivers cannot be ticketed for not wearing a seatbelt if their vehicle is photographed going through a red light. In Arizona for example if a driver is cited for the primary violation of running a red light or speeding, they can also be cited for a secondary violation like a seatbelt ticket or a ticket for expired registration. Californians are still only ticketed the old fashioned way, by an officer, for a seatbelt or expired registration ticket. It's a good thing too, because a red light camera ticket yields upwards of $400.00 plus a point or more on your driving record. To be ticketed for a seatbelt ticket in addition to the red light ticket would yield another $100 plus, as well as a point on your driving record. Drivers should always practice safe driving habits which would include wearing a seatbelt, but for now California drivers can rest easy as they will not be ticketed for a seatbelt ticket by a camera.
Contributed by ticketbust.com, helping drivers contest and dismiss their traffic tickets.If you get cited for a red light photo ticket, contact us at www.TicketBust.com or call us at (800) 850-8038. For Spanish, please visit www.Combatesuticket.com or call (818) 584-3689. For more information on how TicketBust can help to beat your cell phone ticket, visit www.fightcellphonetickets.com or call (800) 850-8038.